Chair Reupholstering

Hey y’all!  I apologize for not posting in a few days.  This past weekend, my future brother-in-law graduated from high school, as a teacher I had to attend my school’s graduation, and after that- Seth’s graduation party!  Busy weekend to say the least!

Yesterday, as I sat at my desk for six hours (seriously- who needs FOUR teacher workdays?!)  I decided I wanted to update some of my furniture before the big move this summer.  Projects #1 and #2 are going to be tedious reupholstery jobs , but I have two awesome seating peices in need of a MAJOR makeover. 

photo1

See what I mean?  While I am not too opposed to the golden-rod color, the fabric is itchy, it coordinates poorly with my preffered interior colors, and it’s lumpy, saggy, uncomfortable….you get the idea.  I also have a sofa that I intend to update.  Surprisingly, it shares the same mustard color in it’s slipcover, but I am not a fan of said slipcovers, nor am I a fan of the terrible baroque/striped pattern that it sports (seriously, it’s green and red and blue and AWFUL.) The chair was a tidbit leftover when my mom purchased a 150-year old home in Eastern North Carolina.  The sofa cost a whopping $25 at the local Goodwill in Hillsborough.  Talk about cheap finds! 

You’ll have to excuse the poor-quality photo (and the strange ghost-spot smack dab in the middle of the fabric), but the print I have chosen is an ivory, textured one from Loomcraft Fabrics in Burlington (great deals, y’all!)photo2

As you can see, it is lovingly being carted around in the back of my car.  Busy life, y’all!  Anyways, hopefully I will have this thing done this week, and God-willing, it will look great!  If anyone has any wisdom to impart about the process of reupholstering furniture, send it my way! 

xo,
A

Leave a Reply

