Long time!

Hey y’all! So sorry I have been MIA for so long now. As a teacher, my job definitely doesn’t end when the kids get out.

What I’ve done this week:

Carted around 40+ FFA members in downtown Raleigh
Watched my kids win 5 (yes, that says F-I-V-E) state Career Development Events
Cheered for my student, Haley Lohr, who was elected to a North Carolina FFA State Officer position

My life is awesome. Over the past year I have had times when I questioned my career as an Agriculture Educator. This week, once agin, again, reminded me that my calling is this:

Making a positive difference in the lives of students, by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success.

I never thought it would be hard to say goodbye to Southern Alamance, and most of you who know me, know why. The past few days have discounted any assumptions I have made about the lack of emotion I thought I’d have. My students are beautiful. My teaching partners, though difficult at times, are phenomenal, and I am genuinely going to miss this place.

While change is always necessary, and one never stops growing, no one said it would be easy. The place I am going will have a beautiful group of students, and I will continue to be blessed.

But no one ever said it would be easy.

Leave a Reply

