Wreaths in All Their Glory

As I promised, I’m about to show you something AWESOME. I’m talkin’ wreaths, y’all! Wreaths are a simple, sometimes subtle way of celebrating a holiday, season, etc. My goal for the remainder of 2013 is to make a different wreath for each month of the year! Here are the twelve beauties I am hoping to make!

January: Simple Bow and Gemstone Wreath

jan1

What I like most about this wreath is its simplicity.  I plan to substitute the plastic-y bow for a real one, preferably silver wired ribbon.  I love this!

February: Bouquet Wreath

feb2

Everyone loves getting roses, tulips or other flowers on Valentine’s Day!  Your front door will appreciate the sweet gesture.  I will use faux flowers in the mauve, coral and peach families.

March: Herb Wreath

march3

Again- all about the simplicity!  I love the lavender, here, but may opt for other succulents, instead.  The dusty pastel hues are gorgeous, and serve as a real tribute to the slightly more comfortable weather in NC!

April: Opening Day Wreath

april4

Cole and I are pretty big baseball fans (go Nationals!)  so what better way to honor America’s pastime than with a wreath?!  This one is great!  “Dirty” baseballs and a bow in your teams’ colors.

May:  Springtime Monogram Wreath

may5

Southern girls LOVE monograms, and I LOVE this!  The rustic feel is great, and it combines the freshness of spring with the casualness of home.

June:  Hydrangea Wreath

june6

I also LOVE hydrangeas!  This would be incredibly easy to make, and you could use any color hydrangea to match your home exterior.  We have a sweet, sweet friend who made us a wreath using hydrangeas as a wedding gift.  It also has a ‘W’ on it, which will be my last initial in June of next year, so I can’t wait to hang it up!

July:  Americana Wreath

july7

I love Independence Day.  It is arguably one of my top two favorite holidays (second only to Christmas!)  When I make this wreath, I will probably go with more jewel-toned colors…think darker red, ivory white and navy blue!  I love the aged wooden stars, but will probably skip the burlap rosettes on the right side.

August:  Collegiate Wreath

august8

There are various routes you could follow for this baby.  Your undergraduate alma mater, current school, favorite football team…the possibilities are endless!  I haven’t decided if I will make this in green and white, for Mount Olive College, or red and black, for UGA/NCSU.  I may even use National Blue and Corn Gold ribbons, to tie into our careers as agriculture teachers/FFA advisors.  Decisions, decisions…

September:  Cotton Boll Wreath

1da480df713379636050235839e12085

Cotton is a major cash crop for North Carolina.  As a tribute to agriculture and the Old North State, this gorgeous wreath will don my front door.  The burlap ties it together (no pun intended), and the crisp white of the cotton boll is gorgeous.

October:  Burlap Rosette Wreath

oct11

I am not the biggest fan of Halloween, and probably will only decorate to appease my children, when I have some.  I prefer the beauty of autumn over witches and monsters, any day.  This is a perfect reflection of what fall looks like to me!  Warm colors, cozy fabrics and layers.

November: Shotgun Shell Wreath

nov112

This novelty wreath is precious, I think!  Cole is an avid outdoorsman, and would appreciate this on our front door!  Since November is smack-dab in the middle of deer season and the beginning of duck season, Cole should have plenty of shells lying around!

December:  Winter Wonderland Wreath

december12

My favorite way to decorate for Christmas is by using lots of greenery, metallic colors and other dainty, pretty things!  I have never really been interested in cartoon renditions of Santa or Frosty…I love the classic rusticness of evergreen twigs, plaid and wood.  I love that this wreath uses pale twigs, greenery, and pinecones.  I will probably also tie in the Bruce tartan.

 

I love the classicness of a wreath.  It is so easy to change the entire feel of your home with just one simple switch!  I can’t wait to get started on some of these!  Which is your favorite?  Do you have any other ideas?

xo,

A

Leave a Reply

